Agnes Boal Bursary

The Canadian Quilters’ Association/Association canadienne de la courtepointe (CQA/ACC) offers two kinds of awards for guilds/groups only. These are the Agnes Boal Bursary and rosettes.

The Agnes Boal Bursary is sponsored by the CQA/ACC in memory of Agnes Boal, a former President of the CQA/ACC whose love of quilting and the CQA/ACC were evident to all who knew her. Annually, $750 is awarded to a CQA/ACC member guild/group to assist them in bringing a Canadian teacher (who is a member of CQA/ACC) to their area to conduct a workshop or give a lecture. The winning group will be invited to share the teaching experience they arrange, in an issue of The Canadian Quilter.

2014 Award Winner
Quesnel Quilt Guild, Quesnel, BC

Past Award Winners
Annapolis Valley Quilters Guild, Kingston, NS
Sudbury and District Quilting and Stitchery Guild, ON
Northern Lights Quilt Guild, O’Leary, PEI
Baccalieu Quilting Guild, Arnolds Cove NL
Kemptville Quilters' Guild, Osgoode ON
Royal City Quilters Guild, Guelph ON
Quadra Island Quilters' Guild, Quadra Island BC
St. Albert Quilters' Guild. St. Albert, Alberta
South Shore Quilters Guild, St. Lambert, Quebec
Rivervalley Quilters, Kamloops, BC.
Gail Patricia Hunt, Prince George, BC
Norfolk County Quilters’ Guild, Simco, ON
St. Albert Quilters’ Guild, St. Albert, AB
Fort Saskatchewan Quilting Guild, Fort Saskatchewan, AB

Procedure for Applying

  1. The applicant guild/group must be a CQA/ACC member in good standing for the past two years.
  2. The bursary is limited to one application per guild/group per year.
  3. A guild/group who receives a bursary must wait five years before re-applying.
  4. Confirm with CQA/ACC Membership director that the Teacher/presenter selected must be a CQA/ACC member
  5. Arrangements with the teacher must be made within 12 months of winning the bursary.
  6. The deadline for applications is April 1. Send completed application to the CQA/ACC membership director.
  7. A draw from the applications is made at each AGM and the winner announced, as well as published in the autumn issue of The Canadian Quilter.


Application Form